Links

Click on a section below to jump to the links for that section
General Reference
Resources for music teachers
General knowledge for music students
Composers - Classical
Composers - Popular
Form and structure
Music History and Style
Theory and Aural training
Practice and performance
Piano
String
Woodwind & Brass
Vocal
Orchestral
Examination boards
Eisteddfods and competitions
Associations

General Reference

Australian Dictionary of Biography: www.adb.online.anu.edu.au/adbonline.htm - the online edition contains over 10,000 biographies, published by the Australian National University
Music and Vision: www.mvdaily.com - daily online magazine for classical music
National Library of Australia: www.nla.gov.au
Oxford University Press: www.oup.com/online/omo/ - subscription site with access to the latest versions of New Grove, Oxford Companion and Oxford History of Western Music
International Index to Music Periodicals: iimp.chadwyck.com
Musipedia (Melodyhound): www.musipedia.org/about.html - a searchable collection of musical themes
Theme Finder: www.themefinder.org - another searchable collection of musical themes
All Music Guide: www.allmusic.com

Resources for music teachers

Music Education & History Resources for Teachers: www.distance-education.org/Degrees/Music-Education---History-Resources-for-Teachers-A598.html - a directory of links to interesting websites relating to music history, music theory and other useful sites for music teachers
Ready, Set, Music! Music Resources For Educators: www.roadreadycases.com/resources/ready-set-music-music-resources-for-educators.html - includes music history, famous composers and other resources for teachers and students

General knowledge for music students

Theory and general knowledge study notes: www.rosshamilton.com.au/index.cfm/method/catalogue.main - Analyses and study notes on more than 1000 works, suitable for students of all ages

Composers - Classical

Australian Music Centre: www.australianmusiccentre.com.au - your first point of reference for anything to do with Australian composition, with information on more than 500 composers
Bartok: www.zti.hu/bartok/exhibition/en_TOC.htm - Bartok Virtual Exhibition
Debussy: www.debussy.fr/encd/centre/centre.php - Centre de Documentation Claude Debussy
Handel: gfhandel.org
Mozart Digital Edition: dme.mozarteum.at/DME/nma/start.php?l=2 - Neue Mozart-Ausgabe
Schubert: www.schubert-ausgabe.de - Neue Schubert-Ausgabe

Composers - Popular

Jazz Standards: www.jazzstandards.com/index.html - Information on more than 300 jazz standards, including composer biographies
Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: www.rockhall.com
Songwriters Hall of Fame: www.songwritershalloffame.org
Broadcast Music, Inc: www.bmi.com/search - BMI represents over 350,000 songwriters, composers, and publishers with more than 6.5 million works
American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers: www.ascap.com - ASCAP is a membership association of more than 310,000 U.S. composers, songwriters, lyricists, and music publishers of every kind of music

Form and structure

Sonata form introduction: www.sfcmtheory.com/analysis_lectures/16a_sonata_form_introduction.htm - A concise introduction to some of the ways in which sonata form can be explained and analysed

Music History and Style

Metropolitan Museum of Art: www.metmuseum.org/toah/intro/atr/09sm.htm - timelines, maps, essays and pictures from their collection

Theory and Aural training

Aural Training Online: www.e-lr.com.au/resources.php - subscription required
Blitz Books: www.blitzbooks.com.au - A fun but well structured approach to exam preparation. The website has many free resources for teachers and students.
Ear Tests and Drills: www.dolmetsch.com/musictheory43.htm - links to free aural training websites
Easy Notes: www.easy-notes.com - a new approach to teaching note recognition
Free worksheets and study notes: enjoypiano.weebly.com/downloads.html - note reading, rhythm reading, key signature and sign recognition, and basic composition training
Interval trainer: classic.musictheory.net/84
Music Theory and History Online: www.dolmetsch.com/theoryintro.htm - comprehensive collection of free resources
Note trainer: classic.musictheory.net/82 - free online resource for note recognition
Ricci Adams' Music Theory: www.musictheory.net - useful trainers for theory and aural
Theta Music Trainer: trainer.thetamusic.com/en - fun ear training games

Practice and performance

Metronome: www.8notes.com/metronome/ - Free online metronome, with a variety of beat styles
Performance Practice Dictionary: books.google.com/books?id=_w32_CqDNWkC - a study of how music was performed over the centuries by Roland John Jackson
Practiceopedia: www.practiceopedia.com - tips for practice
Succeed with Music: www.succeedwithmusic.com - tips for practice and performance

Piano

Australasian Piano Pedagogy Conference: www.appca.com.au - held biennially
Clavier Companion: www.claviercompanion.com - a quarterly magazine (subscription required) published by the Frances Clark Center for Keyboard Pedagogy
How to blitz sight reading: www.blitzbooks.com.au/Books/SightReading.aspx
Piano 300 Exhibition at the Smithsonian: piano300.si.edu/ - a fascinating site based on the Smithsonian Museum's celebration of the 300th anniversary of the piano in 2001
Piano Buyers' Guide: www.pianobuyersguide.com.au
Piano Street: www.pianostreet.com - piano music, forum, blog discussions
Scale blitzer: www.scaleblitzer.com - a new approach to the learning and revision of technical work
Sight reading: www.sightreadingpractice.com - free note recognition exercises
Susan Deas Music: www.susandeas.com.au/resources.html - helpful suggestions for learning to play by ear, and other resources for music students and teachers
Tim Topham: timtopham.com - interesting links and blog articles about piano teaching

String

Cello Database: www.cellist.nl
Internet Cello Society: www.cello.org
Net Violin: www.netviolin.com
Violin makers Amati and Stradivari: www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/strd/hd_strd.htm

Woodwind & Brass

Australian Clarinet & Saxophone Magazine: www.clarinet-saxophone.asn.au
Covey Oboes: www.oboes.com - contains helpful information about development of the oboe
Flute Society of NSW: www.flutesocietynsw.org.au
Recorder: www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/recd/hd_recd.htm - history and development of the recorder

Vocal

Art Song Central: artsongcentral.com - free public domain art songs
Opera History: www.theaterseatstore.com/opera-theater - links to other websites about the historical development of opera
Texts of Lieder and Art Songs: www.recmusic.org/lieder/
Texts of Operatic Arias: www.aria-database.com

Orchestral

Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra: www.rpo.org/s_4/s_28/Educators%27_Resources/ - listening lessons and other resources

Examination boards

ABRSM: www.abrsm.org - Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music
AGMS: www.guildmusic.edu.au - Australian Guild of Music and Speech
AMEB: www.ameb.edu.au - Australian Music Examinations Board
AMEB (NSW): www.ameb.nsw.edu.au
ANZCA: www.anzca.com.au - Australian and New Zealand Cultural Arts Limited
Hal Leonard Exam Finder: print.halleonard.com.au/exam-finder/ - Helps you to locate repertoire for music examinations
NSW Board of Studies: www.boardofstudies.nsw.edu.au - information and resources about school curricula, including the HSC
St. Cecilia: www.stceciliaonline.com/about.php - St. Cecilia School of Music and Examinations
Trinity College London: www.trinitycollege.org.au - Information for Australian teachers and students from Trinity College London
VCE: intuneforlife.com.au - Victorian Certificate of Education information and resources

Eisteddfods and competitions

2MBS-FM Youth Development Programs: www.2mbs.com/content_common/pg-Youth-Development.seo - opportunities for young performers aged 12 to 30 to participate in live radio broadcasts
Australian National Eisteddfod: www.nationaleisteddfod.org.au - May-October
Australian National Piano Award: www.pianoaward.com.au/index.html - a national, biennial competition for pianists 21-35 years of age
Ku-Ring-Gai Concerto Competition: www.kpo.org.au/concerto_comp/information.html - April-June - an opportunity to perform a concerto movement with the KPO
McDonald's Performing Arts Challenge: www.sydneyeisteddfod.com.au - June-September
Muswellbrook & Upper Hunter Eisteddfod: www.muswellbrook.nsw.gov.au/Things-to-do/Eisteddfod/Index.htm - April-October
Northern Beaches Eisteddfod: www.northernbeacheseisteddfod.com.au - May-June
Parramatta Eisteddfod: www.eisteddfodparramatta.org.au - May-June
Ryde Eisteddfod: rydeeisteddfod.org.au/EISTEDDFOD/ - June-August
Yamaha Piano Awards: www.yamahamusic.com.au/piano-awards/about-awards.php - a national, biennial competition for pianists 10-18 years of age

Associations

Music Teachers' Association of NSW: www.musicnsw.com.au
Music Teachers' Association of Queensland: www.mtaq.org.au
Musicological Society of Australia: www.msa.org.au
Orff-Schulwerk: www.ancos.org.au